[First Impressions] Hanasakeru Seishounen – Episodes 1-9

 photo img20872_zpsdinscvms.jpg

Summary: A very powerful industrialist directs his daughter to pick a husband from three candidates he has chosen for her. They are to come into her life, and their uniqueness would cause her to recognize them immediately. All three of the candidates are outstanding. Well, it’s actually four…

The story evolves along the lines of a power political mystery involving a small middle eastern country.

 photo 41e11c6f97126ef2f89229119d60f0f51249016393_full_zpsm4yaolpv.png

So, this has been recommended to me by Fujinsei (together with some other titles) and since I had no good reverse harem anime in my MAL watching list and I didn’t have one in a while now, I started Hanasakeru Seishounen immediately. I must say I am not disappointed. I marathoned the first 6 episode and then the later 3 today and I decided to write this as I felt the ending of an arc.

Hanasakeru Seishounen is not really your typical reverse harem story. First of all it’s NOT an otome game adaption, but a manga adaption, so knowing that, it’s clear that it’s going to have a lot more character consistency. Also, it is not the typical “innocent poor girl meets rich guys; they automatically fall in love with her for no good reason”. Kajika Burnsworth is definitely not a poor girl, but the heir to the Burnsworth family, one of the most influential in America and worthy of note to the other commercial trading businesses. Also she’s definitely not innocent, or at least not in the way it’s usually intended. One could call her rather “naive” and willing to see the good in people first and foremost, as well as staying true to her views and treat everybody equally. I was pleasantly surprised that she doesn’t come close to the reverse harem heroine troupe. The other characters, from what I could manage to notice, are slowly fleshed out throughout the episodes and I didn’t feel like anything in particular was shoved down my throat as a fact without proper preparation for it. However, sometimes I can’t help but feel constrasting feelings; sometimes the anime tries to make me feel sorry using overly dramatical expressions (and for me that has almost the opposite effect), on the other side I found some scenes and outcomes overly superficial and “easy”. This is because the plot didn’t wait around at all during these first 9 episodes; Kajika already met 2 of her potential fiancès, but episode 9 seems to take a break from that, while allowing us to get to know Li Ren and Eugene more, as well as clearing up the situation left in mid-air during the first episode; which I’m genuinely glad they didn’t forget about.

 photo eGVqOWltMTI_o_fandub-hanasakeru-seishounen-episode-2-part-3_zps5dql4cym.jpg

Li Ren might be the one that caught my eye the most because:
1. He’s the childhood friend troupe which, I must say, I almost always end up preferring in reverse harem.
2. He’s, yet again, not the typical childhood friend troupe; he is there for Kajika’s emotional support and protection, but he has no problems being frank with her and I find his maturity and cleverness, as well as tendecy towards manipulation, quite intriguing.
3. He’s one hell of a smexy Chinese bishie. <- excuse me. I couldn't help it.

I developed a soft spot for Eugene too at the end of his arc, that I must not deny. The anime is quite good at making the characters highly likeable, mainly throughout their backstories (I'm looking at you, Eugene) and their ability to cope up with the things around them. The same goes for Rumaty, though definitely less than Eugene and Li Ren. One thing that I must half-complain about overall, is Kajika having to choose a husband when she's only 14 years old of age when most of the other guys are at least 20, safe from Rumaty…I've been trying to erase that detail from my mind from the beginning, since she doesn't look nor does she act like a 14 years old. And my main issue is exactly that, NOT the potential "according to law-pedophilia" that I seriously and genuinely don't care about.

 photo 5680c6df6ea8506196620103b85597b1_zpsii8icupn.jpg

As conclusion, I will probably end up finishing this series quite fast. It’s a real breath of fresh air and I’m glad I came upon it. I will update a full review once I’m done. Peace!

8 thoughts on “[First Impressions] Hanasakeru Seishounen – Episodes 1-9

Leave a Reply

