[First impressions] Hakuouki SSL: Sweet School Life [Episode 1]

 photo ssl8_zpscntnwzbl.png

Before you actually yelp in surprise and be like “Holy shit! Hakuouki Shinsengumi Kitan in drama version!! I must watch.!” hold your horses and let me get this straight. It is not. ( ̄ω ̄)

Summary: The fluttering Sakura. Spring – a season of blessing for new encounters. Chizuru Yukimura knocks on the gates of a private academy, which has always been a boys’ school. However, as of this year, Hakuou Academy opens its gates to co-education and Chizuru is the only female student enrolled. Thus begins her first year.

(Source: MDL)

Despite English subs being not yet available for this show (and I really hope somebody is going to pick it up eventually, even though I know Japanese doramas don’t always get translated or they get dropped after a while,sadly) and I must recognize I did not 100% understand everything that was going on, I still decided to cover at least my impressions on the first episode for those that are interested in the drama, but got discouraged. I don’t usually do recaps, but I will do a rough one this time for you.

 photo hssl_zps39unjf2b.png

First of all:

It’s so ANIME.

I must be sincere, I have little to no Japanese drama experience (the only Japanese drama I was following before it stopped getting subbed was Flowers for Algernon with Yamashita Tomohisa/Yamapi (‘∀’●)♡) and the little I have watched didn’t have that as a big “issue”. I put this in brackets because it didn’t actually bother me very much in Hakuouki SSL (though I couldn’t help but playfully make fun of it sometimes, without any bad intentions), but I know there are people out there that either just completely dislike it and roll eyes at it or, on the contrary, find nothing wrong with “over the top acting”. I’m somewhere in the middle, i don’t hate it, but don’t like it either (if it’s not a parody). It just simply amuses me. 8D

So, to make a fast summary of what was going on during the first episode for those that didn’t watch it because of the language barrier scaring them off together with a fast commentary:

It starts off with the Shinsengumi going to rescue Chizuru, they reach the place, Heisuke takes out the Ochimizu saying that they will have more power if they use that, but Hijitaka disagrees saying that they don’t need it. They decide the pairs and go in, the others covering for Hijitaka and Okita; beware awkward “blood spilling” effects.The enemies are polite enough to wait till our samurais get their bishie “let’s- act-cool-and-overpowered-because-that’s-what-we-do” time out of the way and Hijitaka saves off Chizuru who was tied up at the second floor of the inn. There’s some sort of time dimensional skip here and the story about “a girl, guy students, the student council and teachers” starts aka SSL!

 photo ssl10_zpsavpgpnvp.png

Chizuru is running, probably being late for classes, greets Saito, for some reason being the only one picked on for running by, I think, Kaoru (Weren’t you guys supposed to be twins???) being on the disciplinary comitee;she also runs past the dojo and greets Heisuke and Souji…(/∇\*)。o○♡*blanks and stares in delight*… who were training and finally manages to get to class after passing by Hijitaka in the hallway. (Note: Heisuke is her childhood friend in this version and Souji…I imagine neighbor? I didn’t get that very straight. There’s an overall lack of “Okita Souji” in this episode.) In class she gets greeted by Ibuki (I seriously didn’t think he would be in this too; those who watched/played Hakuouki Reimeiroku will know who he is) who seems to have a severe “My stomach is growling so feed me” case, but gets instantly scolded by Harada-sensei (who’s so very sexy and so very tall (´ ▽`).。o♡ *coughs*). Guess what, though? Exams are coming! And Chizuru shall be the pride of the all-boys school! After classes she meets Heisuke sprawled over on the stairs because he’s been studying too much. (。・ω・。) She takes him to the nursery and asks Sannan, the nurse (whose actor fits him quite well o-o), to let him rest. Sannan suggests to Heisuke to drink a suspicious-looking-red-liquid-in-a-pretty-shaped-glass-bottle-because-that’s-clearly-not-suspicious (*whispers* Ochimizu; how the actual f*** did this get into the modern times??(¬д¬。)) to feel better, but Heisuke categorically refuses and after Sannan is out of the way he asks Chizuru to let him sleep with his head on her lap, because I’m sure that’s so very comfortable (only in dramas and anime ಠ_ರೃ).

 photo ssl9_zpsmk6ivvh5.png

Stuff happen later on, Kazama makes a monologue about his undying stalker love for Chizuru, sided by Amagiri and Shiranui. I wish somebody would explain to me why is Amagiri acting like Kazama’s butler? XD I don’t remember him being submited to that point to Kazama in the original story (though I don’t know in the SSL otome game). Later, Chizuru is at the library and she can’t seem to reach a book that she needs for studying, but worry not! Hijitaka-sensei to the rescue! Chizuru gets so flustered that she actually manages to fall off the chair ಠ_ರೃ only for Hijitaka to romantically stop her fall…but he gets pushed off so goodbye to any dokidoki-ness this moment had to offer. XD After he gets up and Chizuru spologizes he tells her something about her having to try hard at her exams (I presume; I was too ლ(ಠ_ಠლ) at this point to pay attention).

 photo hssl1_zpsrprnsi0h.png

In the teacher’s office, Principal Kondo asks Hijitaka about Chizuru and confesses that he’s worried she’s the only girl in the school and it must be hard (I think). Shinpachi runs in disappointed that he lost again at gambling and he gets scolded by both Kondo and Hijitaka that he shouldn’t bring these stuff to school and it’s improper because he’s a teacher.(¬‿¬)

Chizuru leaves school late in the evening and meets up Hijitaka at the gate which offers to accompany her home, because a girl shall not walk home while it’s dark. On the way they speak a bit about her father which apparently left for business work and once arrived she cutely thanks him for the help and for accompanying her and walks off in, leaving Hijitaka in realization that he might have feelings for her.  Heisuke sees all this from his room and gets upset, probably feeling the good atmosphere. (・◇・)

 photo ssl5_zpsc0kua6ww.png

So the episode ends leaving us with a very cute preview for episode 2 which seems to have lots of Okita Souji to make up for the lack of him this episode! (I’m so excited I could cry.)

Overall, I had fun. It was fun to lovingly make fun of them bishies and seriously, it is all I needed after a hard day at uni. It’s not something that should be taken seriously; you should just take what you get in this case.
What are your opinions on it? ^w^ Also, please correct me if I got anything wrong in the recap! It will be much appreciated!

EDIT: If you want to watch this drama I re-direct you to this post for links: HERE

7 thoughts on “[First impressions] Hakuouki SSL: Sweet School Life [Episode 1]

  1. I agree it’s not a drama to be taken seriously, like how the game was www The story is crap, but I really enjoyed seeing the Hakuouki characters in the modern high school setting ❤
    It was fun to see how the drama followed the game 😀 The Heisuke and Chizuru hizamakura, Chizuru and Hijikata in the library, Kazama's "sapuraizu", Chizuru and Souji taking a selfie at the rooftop… I swear I was giggling most of the time because it really is the Hakuouki SSL game in drama form ^_^= I only finished up to episode 3 (sadly, I can't find the fourth episode), but I'm really looking forward to more episodes! *^o^*/

    Like

Leave a Reply

