[First Impressions] Dance with Devils [ Episode 1]

 photo dwd6_zpsg2pdfmn9.png

MAL synopsis: “Daß ich erkenne, was die Welt im Innersten zusammenhält, schau’ alle Wirkenskraft und Samen, und thu’ nicht mehr in Worten kramen.”
“That I realize what keeps the world together at heart, look at all effectualness and seeds and don’t rummage in words anymore.”

At a street that looks nostalgic, in Shikou Village.
Ritsuka Tachibana, a second year high schooler who attends Shikou Gakuen.
She spends a peaceful school life with her mother Maria, but the balance will collapse one day—.
Is that a person or a devil?

Dance with Devils is definitely one of the anime that got lots of attention months before the Fall season and here it finally is ! Most of you following me are probably aware that Dance with Devils comes as an original animation project from Rejet, most famous for their “how-to-get-your-blood-sucked-by-sadistic-abusive-vampires” guide, commonly known as Diabolik Lovers and the whole hype and reluctance going around Dance with Devils comes from that. However, fear not! As first episode, it doesn’t seem like the story wants to take that direction and between the guys, there is currently only one obvious potential DiaLover-candidate, but to what degree that’s still to see.

 photo dwd2_zpszmj1jsvx.png

I must mention this, I did not expect to enjoy the first episode this much. Not particularly because of the story it tries to tell, but because of the freakin musical-ish parts! MUSICAL! My face was a mix between (´。✪ω✪。`) and ✧(๑✪д✪)۶ㅂ٩(✪д✪๑)✧ during the singing parts and the almost-“theatrical” and fairytale-ish feeling it has is to praise. It’s definitely unique to see something like this in an anime and I seriously hope it won’t stop only at the first episode with it.

Putting “fangirling over awesome vocals” to a side here, storywise it seems more plot oriented than most reverse harem shows which usually follow the “fluff-cute-fluff-sexy-fluff-angsty backstory-fluff-sexy” formula (not all but a good portion of them). I am aware that it’s still fast to judge this after only one episode though. If I got to think about a huge disappointment when everything just turned into a “what am I watching ?” moment after a spectacular first episode, La Storia dell’Arcana Famiglia would be a very good example of it. Dance with Devils, for what we can assume till now, focuses on the hunting and retrieval of a “grimoire” which grants the power to control the world and more to whoever owns/uses it. Our heroine, Ritsuka, might unawaringly have the key to find and/or use this grimoire, which everybody in her family but her is aware of, so ultimately it might turn into something like “whoever owns Ritsuka, owns the grimoire by default” kind of story.

 photo dwd4_zpskkw9wa7g.png

Characters wise, weirdly enough, I am curious about every guy and I look forward to an explanation to their powers/demon selves and what are they exactly doing in the human world playing humans. Is it because they needed to find the heroine? Or for another reason? Anyway, I find Lindo (his name reminds me of chocolate…I felt like eating chocolate everytime I heard it!) and his role being the most intriguing and I can’t wait for his entrance. As for Ritsuka, she’s definitely not annoying and unlike Yui from Diabolik Lovers she seems to have a lot more guts and common sense; though she was fast in leaving without even hearing the reason she was called by the student council to begin with, but I call that “plot convenience” rather than being her fault. Also, the dog in the picture is also going to change into a bishie right? It usually happens. XD

 photo dwd7_zps8iutlh5h.png
And this guy is not actually her brother right? That usually happens too, mostly in this case where it seems that the main “triangle” is going to happen between Lindo and Rem, which, looking into it deeper, could symbolize the 2 sides of good and evil.

What about you? Did you start watching this yet? Planning to? What are your thoughts on it generally? Can’t wait for some feedback!

10 thoughts on “[First Impressions] Dance with Devils [ Episode 1]

    • Depends of your time and ways, I guess. XD I personally prefer watching airing stuff because I’m a very slow watcher. I have an inability to marathon stuff, either because I don’t have time (being an university student is painful…) or because I have mood swings quite often (consequence of having too many hobbies), so a lot of anime ended up being forgotten at some point because I couldn’t be bothered watching that particular genre or theme.( ´_ゝ`)ノ I don’t have any excuse with airing anime because they all air up in different days so I can spend 25 minutes per day watching and don’t get tired of it on the way because of the wait.And that’s how Neko gets things done! Plus it can be fun to follow the hype of the community when stuff gets revealed with the whole theories and stuff. (●>ω<)ノ゙

      So I get you're a person that prefers marathoning :0

      Liked by 1 person

      • well being a university student myself, I can say that I watch anime while I eat so that makes 1-2 episode a day and that means I can easily see a whole anime in one week. Also I keep a list of anime I am watching so that I can keep track of what to see next depending on my mood. And that is how I can easily get a review done each week xD Well because this is a reverse harem the moment I’ll be in this kind of mood I’ll end up watching it like I watch Uta no Prince-sama (following the release religiously lol)

        Liked by 1 person

      • I have my myanimelist too to keep track of it to say the truth which I diligently update, (by the way add me if you have an account too! http://myanimelist.net/profile/xgreeneyednekox ) but I can’t eat in front of the pc or mom would kill me XD hahahah My free time would be from 7pm to 7 am and weekends. Also…videogaming and reading are such time wasting hobbies as well…I also watch Asian drama sometimes.:’3 Overall, I’m really a chaotic person and I get bored easily so this is why I can’t concentrate on one single thing at a time. XD And why my blog holds more or less the same theme, but not the same range of topics (I initially wanted to cover only otome games then I somehow branched that to reverse harem anime/manga/drama and music as well). There are just too many things I’m interested in. X-x

        Haha So you like UtaPri! Is the third season nice? ( I have a love-hate relationship with UtaPri. It amuses me, yet it’s so cringeworthily cheesy sometimes XD.) I saw they added the other 4 (?) bishies of the other boy group to the harem 8D

        Liked by 1 person

      • I loved season 3. But yeah, this anime is just so strangely good and bad at the same time. I’m crazy about it and yet I have so many things to hate xD They added quartet night (sorry don’t know if I spelled this right) Ranmaru is too hot *dies* Also there is no shame in loving all kind of things, I’m the same. I game, I read, I watch stuff, I draw, I write and then university just took it all and swallowed it whole. >.< Now I mostly watch anime and research. But, hey ! It's your blog and you can post everything you want on there xD Woohoo !

        Liked by 1 person

      • hahaha you are right on that ! XD yes, I think it’s quartet night o-o
        Glad to see somebody that has as many hobbies as I do. I know some people that refuse to get new hobbies because it would mess up their programs o-o
        You are once again right on that too XD I’m sure I’ll slowly make Otogemeow an universal blog rofl

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I really enjoyed the first, second, and third episode of this anime. I love the musical parts, I was very surprised when I heard it, but man do I love it! If this does end up being a love triangle, I think I’ll be wanting Rem and Ritsuki to end up together. I just adore Rem right now, hopefully that doesn’t change. I also love the ending song for the series, it is so good! (●´∀`●)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The House of the Devil isn’t just a movie: it’s an experience. It joins the league of Rosemary’s Baby, The Exorcist and The Omen as one of the most diabolical entries in the modern horror library.

    Like

Leave a Reply

