5 Games That You Probably Didn’t Know were Otome Games!

1330311-074c22cfa8df3e40f3a59c7c865f13da

Since it’s my birthday today, HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME!

So I thought I should post something different today!

Seriously, there are many, many games out there and sometimes different genres tend to intersect to create something new that more people will enjoy. Dating sims are becoming a popular cross-genre for some of them, mostly RPGs. So here I’m going to list 5 games, from popular picks, that you might have not known were otome games!

5. Fable (Trilogy)

fable-banner-2

Fable is a trilogy of role-playing games developed by Lionhead Studios for XBOX, Mac and Windows PC and it has some otome game elements. You can, indeed, marry most NPCs in the towns that you’re able to visit and make a family with them (including having children). The relationship can also turn bad if you happen to spend too much time on your adventures while ignoring your marital life. There are some unique characters that you’re allowed to marry too, but unfortunately they aren’t many and they don’t go very far. While the otome elements are there, it’s not exactly the focus in Fable and it can turn quite boring and repetitive out of lack of emotional connection with these characters.

 

4. Avalon Code

Avalon_Code_boxfront

Avalon Code  is a fantasy-action-role-playing video game for Nintendo DS. It was
developed by Matrix Software and published by Marvelous Entertainment.

Even though the protagonists of Avalon Code are too young for marriage,the game features a total of fourteen ‘eligible’ non-player characters who may take a romantic interest in the player character as various side-quests are completed. The main options for a female player are 5 Heroes: Anwar – A desert dweller who claims to have no heart, Duran – A would be hero who lives in Rhoan, Heath – The Waisian General, Rex – a hate filled boy who is the player’s best friend and Valdo – The Waisen Empire Prince.

3. Persona 3 Portable

persona-3-portable-finally-nails-european-release-date.jpg

Persona 3 Portable is an enhanced port of Persona 3, released for the PlayStation Portable (PSP), published and developed by ATLUS. 

As the others on the list, this game allows the player to choose the gender of the protagonist, which possibly opens up new routes and scenarios in the story.When you play as the female protagonist you can engage in romantic relationships with Ryoji, Theodore, Shinjiro, Akihiko and/or Ken.

I have heard a lot of hype regarding these guys, particularly Ken and Shinji, though I must recognize I did not play it myself yet. Tell me what you think if any of you played it or will get to play it before me. XD

 

2. Harvest Moon (series)

Harvest.Moon-.A.New_.Beginning.full_.1148822.jpg

Also known as Story of Seasons, Harvest Moon is a farm simulation role-playing video game series created by Yasuhiro Wada and produced by Victor Interactive Software for Nintendo (though it has branched to other consoles as well).  Most Harvest Moon games offer the ability to marry. Gift giving and interacting with the love interest may increase the love interest’s affection, and if their affection is high enough, marriage may be proposed with a Blue Feather. Most love interests have rivals, who will marry them if the player does not. Only one Harvest Moon game, the Japanese version of Harvest Moon DS Cute, has allowed players to marry someone of the same sex (termed the “Best Friends” system).I seriously do not recommend playing these games for the otome elements without a walkthrough close-by, since it’s very easy to mess it up.

Similar to Harvest Moon is the fantasy-tinged Role Playing Game spin-off series Rune Factory which has a similar system.

1. BioWare Games

alqnhi.jpg

I decided to put all Bioware games at the top since it’s seemed like cheating to fill the list with only Bioware .

For those who don’t know, BioWare is a video game developer corp. whose most of the released game titles include some sort of romance-system. The most famous are Dragon Age, Mass Effect and Jade Empire. And I’ll add Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic and Star Wars: The Old Republic for all you Star Wars fans out there!

maxresdefault.jpg

If you’re looking for an involving storyline and romances that you can really can get to deeply care for, then BioWare games should be your main choice. Personally I only played Mass effect trilogy and Dragon Age trilogy till now and I can guarantee you that they’re the best both from a gameplay and “otome games” type of view. Also, as I mentioned in one of my old posts, a certain guy in Dragon Age 2 holds my record for how many times I managed to romance the same person without being tempted by anybody else, and that’s Fenris. Go and keep him company now! NOW!

 

 

28 thoughts on “5 Games That You Probably Didn’t Know were Otome Games!

  1. Happy birthday! (〜^∇^)〜

    Really good post! Nice to see people broach that other games have otome elements, just that they’re not seen (⌒▽⌒)
    I have yet to finish Persona 3 Portable because of the stats raising plus heavy grinding in it ;_;

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you!!! And yes, I’m very happy when I can actually do something and romance people at the same time, it makes a choice-based story even more choice-based when you’re actually able to modify the world as its hero as well *__*
      oh I did hear of the painful grinding in Persona 3 Portable…Fighto, Cat! How do you see the guys though? (I don’t expect them to be obvious since that’s not the point of Persona, but it’s nice to know XD)

      Like

      • I like otome games with some gaming, but not really RPG/difficult type, I like detective/adventure the best for visual novels. My love got Danganronpa/Corpse Parry/Ace Attorney/Ghost Trick/Zero Escape is really showing xDD

        I’m not sure I’ll ever finish P3P. 30 something hours and I’m like halfway through, I used to play mostly RPG since young, so I don’t have patience anymore ^^’
        It’s why I’m now 100% into visual novels, I’m too lazy to invest so much time into grinding/fighting. I just want to relax and enjoy the stories! (´∀`)♡

        You date the guys by going on social link events, where if you choose right option you’ll get an increase of affection. With romanceable, you’ll then get an extra option in the final S.L. and you’ll hanky-panky. You can also date all of them at the same time, so hurrah.
        Tbh, I wish Persona 3 and 4 were just stat raising and dating, but then it wouldn’t even have gotten localised when it did ⊙︿⊙

        Liked by 1 person

      • I guess so…XD haha I personally would like if more genres get the “dating sim” options. XD I also grew up playing rpgs but I like when the game gives me a challenge, so I guess I might enjoy P3P more than you did, I guess…XD And you can “hanky-panky” with them?? oooooh !!

        Figures that I went raging when Toma happened to beat me in air hockey in Amnesia and I was like “BRING IT ON I’LL DESTROY YOU” till I beat him the second time even though it shouldn’t have been particularly hard. XDDD yeep, competitivity is hard to resist….

        Like

      • You will indeed hanky-panky with them in a fade to black, and wake with them and get dressed. You know it happened (●♡∀♡)
        I got lazy, so I don’t want challenges or to work hard to get to the end of games anymore haha (//・_・//)
        I’m super competitive too! A friend was playing FFX and after a while I told her I’d start playing it too and I’d catch up to her. I got really fuelled to play a lot because of that, and I did catch up to her after bajillion hours! X’D
        Dating sim is getting really popular as an addon, so I predict the future to be full of it ;P

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy Birthdaaayy!! ^^

    I like this post, had a fun time reading it 😀

    When I heard that you can date a guy in Persona 3 I was so hyped! But then I read that you have to *ahum* screw every guy *ahum* in order to get the happy ending with the guy you ACTUALLY want to be with ~.~ And I couldn’t even get with Theodore (there are basically just 3 boys, with the rest you can only have “fun” times) even though I adore him very much ;-; Having dates with Theodore were the best times for me :’)
    Persona 3 is such a great game I love it to bits, but it’s okay on the romance part XD *sigh*

    Harvest Moon is the game I played only for the cute innocent romance actually ahaha, there are two guys I’m obsessed with: Chase and Wizard (Both can be found in Harvest Moon: Animal Parade) . Rune Factory also something like Harvest Moon is also an unexpected Otome Game x).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s probably late so happy belated birthday!
    And omg that fanart of shinji and the female protagonist is so cute >~<
    Too bad I have FES version so I can't play as a female. The MC is still really cool though.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Shinji is my second favourite male character (not counting the MC) currently. He interests me plot and character wise. I like the game, I recommend it if you like RPGs. It’s slightly different from usual ones.

        Like

  4. Pingback: Last Week Today: Week End Recap- Mar. 20th to Mar. 26th – Nice Job Breaking It, Hero

Leave a Reply

